3D model without stacks

Hi, I’m pretty new to imageJ and image analysis in general but I have a question that I cannot seem to find a clear answer to which is the following:

I would like to construct a 3D model of a plant’s root system by taking side views (and potentially a top view) images. For obvious reasons, I cannot create a stack of slices along the vertical axis. Is this possible?

For example, I could create a setup where the plant is at a fixed position from the camera (with naked and clean roots hanging in the air). I could then rotate the plant 360 degrees in increments of 10 degrees, so 35 pictures in total.

Is ImageJ capable of rendering a 3D model of this root system?

Thank you.

1 Like

Hey @BananaBoy,

I’m not aware of an ImageJ-Plugin doing this. But you might want to read about tomographic reconstruction: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tomographic_reconstruction

Or did you already by chance?

I hope that helps.

Cheers,
Robert

1 Like

Hello,

thanks for the quick help and reply. Also big thanks to Herbie who responded via e-mail and also suggested tomographic reconstruction. As it turns out, that will not work either, so I will have to look for some other way to model my root system. I might just go with a 2D image and using thresholding as good as I can to extract the variables that I need.

thanks again!

You might evaluate photogrammetry, too.

I don’t think that the resolution is high enough at the moment (at least for fine roots).

However, here a paper I found:

Here you find some software links:

See also:

1 Like

Hello there,
Have you already make a rotated version of what you wish?, and is the upper part of the plant necessary for your analysis?
Send any attempts you have already done and we can have a look at it.
There are a lot of ways to do things.
Bob

Thanks for all the great responses everyone. I’m new to this forum but am already blown away by the commitment in this community.